America Has Fallen

The past few days have been rather hard on me, as a formerly very proud American. For starters, if someone had told me last year that I would no longer be proud of my nation, I would call them a flat-out liar. I was raised in a military family, and knew how to properly fold a flag, say the Pledge of Allegiance, and sing the National Anthem before I had started school. I was taught true Patriotism, and to be proud of this country. I was led to believe that we were the greatest country on Earth, so it wasn’t easy to type the word “formerly” in the first sentence, but this past week has revealed to me what a profound and undeniable truth that is.

Anyone who knows me, or has read any of my posts, knows that I am against Trump and everything he stands for. So, his election was hard on me because of what it meant for this nation; but I tried to suppress the disappointment in some of my fellow countrymen. I had honestly believed we were better than to elect someone like him. Facing the truth, I know that if this nation were what I had always believed it was, then a buffoon like him would never have gotten a single vote. I lost faith in a lot of people, and look at many of them differently now. I am appalled by the darkness he has unleashed.  I have seen and heard things that were once unacceptable in a civilized society, but have now become readily allowed in Trump’s America.America

In truth, I have slowly begun to accept the shroud that is smothering all humanity out of this nation. It was placed there by a very dark man and the people who adore him. So, as sad as it is to admit, the racism, hate, violence, selfishness, etc. that defines Trump’s America is nothing new to me. You might be wondering what has happened this past week that caused the deep sorrow I am feeling? It started while I was watching Sarah Huckabee in her first press conference this week, and was exacerbated by the proceeding one. I watched her lie without hesitation, with a smirk on her face, and brush Trump’s juvenile and unacceptable behavior under the table as if it were nothing. She made excuses for his childishness, and bully behavior, as if it were normal. She saw no problem, and lashed out at the media uttering the same phrase he has a thousand times: “Fake News”. She then went on to call the Russian investigation a hoax.

If you look at Huckabee’s behavior, it is a form of manipulation. She is using the same psychological ploy that Trump has used a million times: repeat a lie often enough and people will start to believe it. It is basic brainwashing, that the intelligent people can easily see through. However, I am troubled because it is standard operating procedure for the current administration. To work on Trump’s team, one must be capable of lying without hesitation, while being completely devoid of any and all morality and integrity. Ethics are not allowed in his White House. And that is what troubles me the most. The White House was once a place to look up to. It held a special meaning, but now it is just a carnival. There used to be integrity and dignity in the White House, and now it is simply a meeting place for the most vile and corrupt people in the US.

I was already deeply troubled by how far our government has fallen, when I saw something even darker, yet more indicative of where we are as a nation. The final nail in the coffin was the recruiting video put out by our very own terrorist organization, the NRA. This video, for those who have not seen it, was akin to an ISIS recruitment video, and flat out repulsive. I would like to say it was as un-American as it could possibly be, but sadly it was symbolic of what America has become.

The video was easily geared toward all gun nuts (yes there is a vast difference between gun nuts and responsible gun owners), white supremacists, and Trumpians. It was a declaration of war against all Liberals and Democrats. In the video, the demented moderator states:

“They use their media to assassinate real news. They use their schools to teach children that their president is another Hitler. They use their movie stars and singers and comedy shows and award shows to repeat their narrative over and over again. And then they use their ex-president to endorse ‘the resistance.’

“All to make them march. Make them protest. Make them scream ‘racism’ and ‘sexism’ and ‘xenophobia’ and ‘homophobia.’ To smash windows, burn cars, shut down interstates and airports, bully and terrorize the law-abiding – until the only option left is for the police to do their jobs and stop the madness.

“And when that happens, they’ll use it as an excuse for their outrage. The only way we stop this, the only way we save our country and our freedom, is to fight this violence of lies with the clenched fist of truth.

“I’m the National Rifle Association of America. And I’m freedom’s safest place.”

I was appalled when I watched this video, and found it hard to believe that even a vile organization like the highly corrupt NRA was capable of this level of atrociousness. It is the type of propaganda and call to action you would typically see in an ISIS recruitment video. It was scary, especially when facing the reality that the lunatics will see it as a call to action. And anyone who is in the resistance is in danger. Every true American should be scared, and angry.

All of this boiled over for me today, and forced me to face a reality I have been avoiding for weeks now. I can no longer be proud to be an American. I am embarrassed on a daily basis by our toddler in the White House, and appalled by the people who are too cowardly to call him out on it. I am ashamed of the man I refuse to call president. I am furious about the people who excuse his behavior while he continuously destroys our reputation with the rest of the world. I am mortified by the level of corruption that is flagrantly occurring in our government. I am saddened by the lack of humanity, empathy and integrity. I am outraged by the education system that has failed badly enough to make someone like Donald Trump even possible, and angry about the archaic system that managed to elect him. I am horrified by the ignorance of his dutiful supporters, and their refusal to see the truth. I am furious about the reality that we are no longer a democracy. I am dismayed as I watch this nation become a fascist dictatorship, blatantly ignoring the warnings of history. But mostly, I am heartbroken by the darkness that has engulfed America. I am exasperated by the backwards thinking that exists in this country. I am ashamed of the fact that guns are more important than life for so many people. I am angry about the wild west mentality, and the vehement refusal to move forward with the rest of the world. I am ashamed to be an American in Trump’s dark America.

FallenWe are no longer the Land of the Free and the Home of the Brave. America has become the land of hate and violence, and the home of the corrupt and dishonest. America has officially fallen because of the hate that elected a man like Trump. America has ceased to be America because of a corrupt system that is void of all integrity, morality and humanity. If we look at what this nation was originally based upon, and why it was founded, we must face one cold dark reality. America no longer exists. The empire has fallen, and lay in ruins at the feet of Trump and his supporters.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Hot Button Topics, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

